18 May 2016

LMA announces 2016 Board Election result

The Lloyd’s Market Association (LMA) has announced the four successful candidates in this year’s election for membership of its Board.

Effective from today, the newly-elected Board members are:

  • Jonathan Butcher, Chief Executive, Novae Syndicates
  • James Dover, Group Chief Financial Officer, Tokio Marine Kiln Syndicates
  • Lawrence Holder, Managing Director, Cathedral Underwriting
  • Andrew McKee, Chief Executive Officer, MS Amlin Underwriting

All four will serve a term of three years. Neil Maidment, Chief Underwriting Officer, Beazley, will continue as Chairman of the LMA.

Offering his congratulations to the successful candidates, David Gittings, the LMA’s Chief Executive, said: “Thanks to all the candidates for their commitment to the LMA and many congratulations to those elected to take a seat on our Board. Interest from the market has been high this year, and our Board will benefit from the participation of some exceptionally skilled and experienced Lloyd’s practitioners.

"Our Board is highly influential in the Lloyd’s market, offering a broad range of perspectives, and representing over £15bn (56%) of overall market capacity.”

Elections take place each year when one third of the Board’s elected members stand down.  This year, six candidates stood for four vacancies. Voting closed on Thursday 05 May.


- ENDS -

Notes to Editors

For further information please contact:

James Milne, Communications Manager
Lloyd’s Market Association
T 0207 327 8405

Adrian Beeby
T 020 7623 2368

Full list of LMA Board Members:

Neil Maidment - Chief Underwriting Officer, Beazley Plc
David Gittings - Chief Executive, LMA
Andrew Brooks - Chief Executive Officer, Ascot Underwriting Ltd
Jonathan Butcher - Chief Executive, Novae Syndicates Ltd
James Dover - Group Chief Financial Officer, Tokio Marine Kiln Syndicates
Steve Eccles - Underwriting Director, Travelers Insurance Company Ltd
Richard Harries - Chief Executive Officer, Atrium Group
Lawrence Holder - Managing Director, Cathedral Underwriting Ltd
Paul Lawrence - Chief Underwriting Officer, Hiscox London Market
Andrew McKee - Chief Executive Officer, MS Amlin Underwriting Limited
Andrew McMellin - Chief Executive, UK & Ireland, XL Catlin 
Matthew Moore - Chief Underwriting Officer, Liberty Speciality Markets
Colin O’Farrell - Chief Underwriting Officer, QBE European Operations
Matthew Shaw - President, ACE Global Markets
Michael Watson - Executive Chairman, Sompo Canopius
Matthew Wilson - Chief Executive Officer, Brit Global Markets


About the Lloyd’s Market Association (LMA)

Formed in 2001 and located in the heart of the Lloyd’s Building in the City of London, the Lloyd's Market Association represents the interests of the Lloyd’s underwriting community. All underwriting businesses at Lloyd’s are members, together managing gross premium income of around £27billion per annum.